Sonic Mania

This is where you can deliberate anything relating to videogames - past, present and future
Stanshall

Sonic Mania

Post by Stanshall »

Right then, this is one of the hottest releases of the summer, it seems, and I'm now really enjoying it.

For context, I rarely touched any Sonic games as a kid besides a bit of the first one on the Master System. I played something of the DS game, the supposedly decent one but only put an hour or so into it. Full disclosure, I never liked the guy, nor his games. I felt it was too stop-start and I'd always end up going full pelt into a wall or some obstacle just off screen, if not into an enemy or something spiky which would make me scatter rings across the screen and recoil in a really annoying way, taking control away for a second or two.

I started playing this, was impressed by the presentation but quickly felt the same old frustration with the gameplay. I started asking around and had a number of conversations with people because I assumed I was doing something wrong, or was trying to overlay my expectations of what it should play like. Having read up, I also found that my complaints and issues weren't only pretty common, they're also commonly refuted. And so I took things on board and started again.

Forget about rings and pick ups , they said. Don't try to rush, ignore 'gotta go fast'. Explore the playground, see what happens if you go in different directions. Play it a bit more like Mario, in essence! (sorry if that's sacrilegious) And it's really started to click. I'm not trying to race through levels, I see the fast bits and on rails stuff as mostly cosmetic thrills for now, little transitions which I won't be good enough to exploit or make proper use of until I know the game and the levels better. They're there for pacing and variety, rather than the main gameplay stuff (or at least that's my approach for the moment and how I'm enjoying the game).