Edutainment - Learning from games

This is where you can deliberate anything relating to videogames - past, present and future
Craig

Edutainment - Learning from games

Post by Craig »

I'm a teacher, and I play a lot of games. Games are brilliant teaching devices. They can quickly and intuitively explain to you how a new concept works in a supported way, before pushing you to apply it to a new context. Not only that, they can lead you so it's you that is making the discovery giving a rewarding feedback loop that hides the learning in the fun. Mario games do this exceedingly well.

But after all that, what have you learned? Well, you've learned how to play the game, but nothing applicable outside of that. And that's fine. It's an entertainment product, it's not designed to be teaching you anything useful.

But sometimes you can learn useful things from games, though it's best to separate these into two separate categories - Games where the impetus is learning, and incidental skills or information that you've picked up because of the game, but it the game wasn't necessarily trying to teach you.

For the former, many of us played games using the school computer (singular) which had the main aim of teaching. Math games were popular and easy to set up, but there were also reading, history and geography. I'm sure parents will chime in, but I think the vast majority of these kind of games have migrated to apps. I've certainly used language learning apps over the past few years with various levels of gamification. There's a lot of debate in the education world about how useful these are and I've certainly seen my share of useful and... less than useful. I think the big hurdle is making sure the activities are transferable to outside the game.