Pony Island

This is where you can deliberate anything relating to videogames - past, present and future
JaySevenZero
Admin

Pony Island

Post by JaySevenZero »

Here's where you can contribute your memories and opinions of Pony Island for potential inclusion in the forthcoming podcast.

Friendly reminder to all that where feedback for the podcast is concerned, we love it - but self-editing (brevity) is appreciated. We do want to include a breadth of opinions where appropriate, but no-one wants a discussion podcast that’s mainly reading. Better to save yourself time and cut to the chase if you can.
Mr Ixolite

Re: 366: Pony Island

Post by Mr Ixolite »

Note: Some spoilers ahead, I suggest anyone curious about the game goes in as blind as possible

By the time I played Undertale, I had been playing games for almost 25 years. It was a total revelation, and revealed a craving I didn't know I had: games about games. This is what made me seek out Pony Island, but even so I was gleefuly surprised by how many rugs it could pull from under me. I had never experienced anything like it, and though you could uncharitably call it a point and click puzzle adventure in fancy clothing, it succesfully crafted the illusion that I was not playing a game, as much as poking around its innards. Plus, the games theme struck a cord with me; I'm embarrased to say it, but I saw a bit of myself in Lucifers handling of the creative process. A refusal to accept constructive criticism of a work, combined with craving the approval of others for said work. The Devil wants you to make a good game people will love, but love it the way he intended, dammit...but the truth is that sometimes you do need someone else to come in and switch the Pony Lasers on.