The C&R MAME Tournament - ROUND1 (Finished)

Here's where you can arrange game nights and meetups on the platforms of your choice
Alex79

The C&R MAME Tournament - ROUND1 (Finished)

Post by Alex79 »

Welcome to the Cane and Rinse grand MAME Tournament 2013!

Welcome to the first round of the MAME tournament! I'm guessing that most people on here will have tried MAME at some point, but I'll write this guide from the point of a total novice. It'll be a step by step, that even the most incompetent buffoon should have no trouble following! So what is MAME? MAME stands for Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator, and it can be used to play pretty much all of the classic arcade games you can think of, from the earliest of the early days right up to some pretty recent releases.

The first thing you need to do is download MAME, from here : http://upload.drarok.com/files/download ... meUI32.rar

Once you've downloaded this RAR file, just unpack it to your desktop, or wherever. Once it's open, double click the MameUI32.exe file, and you'll be greeted with the main MAME screen. Now will follow a step by step guide to getting the game working.

1. In MAME, click File > Audit All Games (You need to do this every time you add a new ROM / game. For the purpose of round 1, I've already placed the game ROM in the 'roms' directory so you wont need to worry about that. Next week I'll run through the steps needed to add a game. It's very simple).
2. After MAME has finished checking all the games (this does take a couple of minutes, and you can ignore any error messages it throws up), you need to click the 'Available' button on the left hand side of MAME. Then, all you do is double click the name of the game you want to play.

It really is that simple.