sound of play 167
Sound of Play

Sound of Play: 167 – The videogame music podcast

Joining host Leon Cox (@ratsoalbion) for Sound of Play 167 is Paul Davies (@psdavies) with a couple of community contributions from Ksubzero1000 and Seansthomas.

What we aim to bring you with Sound of Play is a diverse sample of some of our favourite pieces from the many air-punching, spine-tingling, tear-jerking and grin-inducing videogame soundtracks we’ve heard over the years.

Track listing for this show is as follows:

1: Thrashard in the Cave by Shin-chan/Keizo Nakamura/Hiroshi Kobayashi – Akumajo Dracula, 1993

2: The Last Ninja Theme by Ben Daglish – The Last Ninja, 1987

3: Concerto for Laser and Enemies by Chris Huelsbeck – Turrican II: The Final Fight, 1991

4: Torvus Bog Hydrodynamo Station by Kenji Yamamoto – Metroid Prime 2: Echoes, 2004

5: Aquatic Ambiance by David Wise/Eveline Fischer/Robin Beanland – Donkey Kong Country, 1994

6: Lava Reef Zone Act 1 by Tee Lopes (original by Sachio Ogawa/Tatsuyuki Maeda/Jun Senoue/Howard Drossin) – Sonic Mania, 2017

7: Gusty Garden Galaxy by Mahito Yokota – Super Mario Galaxy, 2007

8: Main Theme by Ben Daglish – Deflektor, 1987

9: After Burner (Infinite Climax Mix) by Hiroshi Kawaguchi – Bayonetta, 2009

Sound of Play 167 was edited by Jay Taylor (@JaySevenZero)

Remember, it’s not just about what we like, so venture over to our forum at and put forward your own suggestions so that we might include them in future shows.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.