Home » Sound of Play: 58 – The videogame music podcast
sound of play
Sound of Play

Sound of Play: 58 – The videogame music podcast

Welcome to our weekly podcast dedicated to videogame music – Sound of Play

What we aim to bring you with Sound of Play is a diverse weekly sample of some of our favourite pieces from the many air-punching, spine-tingling, tear-jerking and grin-inducing videogame soundtracks we’ve heard over the years. However, it’s not just about what we like, so if you venture over to our forum at caneandrinse.com you can put forward your favourites and we’ll include a selection in the playlist for each show.

This show’s presenters were Ryan Hamann (@InsrtCoins) and special guest Matthew Tucciarone (@major_third) from the Major Third YouTube channel,

along with community contributions from Todinho, Lokhe, and krakkenunleashed

Track listing for this show is as follows:

Track 1: Brinstar Underground Depths by Kenji Yamamoto and Minako Hamano – Super Metroid, 1994
Track 2: Athletic by Koji Kondo – Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island, 1995
Track 3: Main Theme – Chipwave Port by Trojan Horse (original composition by Jake Kaufman) – Shovel Knight, 2014
Track 4: Little Did They Sleep by Austin Wintory – The Banner Saga, 2014
Track 5: Compañeros by Peter McConnell – Grim Fandango, 1998
Track 6: Abyss Watchers by Yuka Kitamura – Dark Souls III, 2016
Track 7: Able Sisters by Kazumi Totaka – Animal Crossing: Wild World, 2005
Track 8: Regurgitation Pumping Station by Kyle Gabler – World of Goo, 2008
Track 9: The Labyrinth by Hiroshi Yoshida, arranged by Manao Doi, vocals by Yoshino Nanjo – Tokyo Mirage Sessions FE, 2015

Sound of Play: 58 was edited by Ryan Hamann (@InsrtCoins).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.