Home » Sound of Play: 90 – The 1990 videogame music special
sound of play
Sound of Play

Sound of Play: 90 – The 1990 videogame music special

Welcome to our weekly podcast dedicated to videogame music – Sound of Play

What we aim to bring you with this Sound of Play special is a diverse sample of some of our favourite pieces from the many air-punching, spine-tingling, tear-jerking and grin-inducing videogame soundtracks we heard in the year of 1990. However, it’s not always just about what we like, so if you venture over to our forum at caneandrinse.com you can put forward your favourites and we’ll include a selection in the playlist for each show.

In this Sound of Play special Leon Cox (@ratsoalbion) is joined by Karl Moon (@nokkonwud) and Michiel Kroder (@mkillahrrr), with a community contribution from Glen ‘Mr Flabyo’ Watts in picking their favourite tracks from videogames from the year 1990

Track listing for this show is as follows:

Track 1: Title Screen by Matt Furniss – Klax
Track 2: Spark Man by Yasuaki Fujita – Rockman 3: Dr. Wily no Saigo!? (Mega Man 3)
Track 3: Title Screen by Chris Huelsbeck – Apprentice
Track 4: Title Screen by Jeroen Tel – Supremacy: Your Will Be Done (Overlord)
Track 5: Stage 2: Gorgon (Venus Fire) by Toshiharu Yamanishi/Naosuke Arai/Tomomi Ootani – Thunder Force III
Track 6: Port Town by Yumiko Kanki/Naoto Ishida – F-Zero
Track 7: Main Theme by Charles Deenen – Unreal
Track 8: Main Theme by Hisayoshi Ogura – Amiga version by Steve Turner – Rainbow Islands
Track 9: Dale of Evil Gods (Stage 1) by Yuka Watanabe/Hiroaki Shimizu/Hideki Yamamoto – Magician Lord
Track 10: Mini-Game 1 by Tim Follin – Pictionary
Track 11: Intro by Charles Callet – PowerMonger
Track 12: Fire Shark by Masahiro Yuge – Same! Same! Same! (Fire Shark)
Track 13: Title Screen by Matthew Cannon – Navy Seals
Track 14: Toy Land 2 by Shigenori Kamiya – I Love Mickey Mouse: Fushigi no Oshiro Daib?ken (Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse)
Track 15: T.V. Set by Naoki Kodaka/Nobuyuki Hara/About SS – Gremlins 2: The New Batch
Track 16: Act 2-2 by Ryuichi Nitta/Mayuko Okamura – Legend of the Ninja Dragon Sword II: The Demonic Sword of Darkness (Ninja Gaiden II: The Dark Sword of Chaos)
Track 17: Stage 1-3 by Chris Huelsbeck – Turrican
Track 18: Filmoa by Yuzo Koshiro – ActRaiser
Track 19: Opening by Tim Wright – Shadow of the Beast II

Sound of Play: 90 was edited by Jay Taylor (@JaySevenZero)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.