Home » Sound of Play Extra: Mikolai Stroinski and Garry Schyman
Garry Schyman
Sound of Play

Sound of Play Extra: Mikolai Stroinski and Garry Schyman

For this Sound of Play Extra, Thomas ‘Tom’ Quillfeldt spoke to composers Mikolai Stroinski and Garry Schyman.

You’ll likely have heard at least some of their work in games like The Witcher 3 and The Vanishing of Ethan Carter (Stroinski), and the BioShock and Middle-Earth: Shadow of… series (Schyman).The interview was centred around their wildly experimental joint score for the recently released puzzle-platformer Metamorphosis by Polish studio Ovid Works. Based on the Franz Kafka novel of the same name, Metamorphosis sees the player crawling around as a bug in various Honey I Shrunk the Kids-meets-Tim Burton (on one of his darker days) environments.

This was recorded across three time zones and the audio isn’t fantastic for the two interviewees — apologies.


Music featured in this podcast:

1. Metamorphosis Theme by Garry Schyman – Metamorphosis (2020)

2. Two Shady Guys in the Room by Mikolai Stroinski – Metamorphosis (2020)

3. Harbor by Garry Schyman – Metamorphosis (2020)

4. The Tower by Mikolai Stroinski – Metamorphosis (2020)

5. Corridors by Garry Schyman – Metamorphosis (2020)

6. Battle of Neretva Prelude by Bernard Herrmann (1969)

7. Underground Village by Garry Schyman – Metamorphosis (2020)

8. The Final Run by Mikolai Stroinski – Metamorphosis (2020)

9. The Letter by Mikolai Stroinski – Metamorphosis (2020)

This Sound of Play Extra was edited by Thomas Quillfeldt.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.