Home » Sound of Play: 139 – The videogame music podcast
sound of play 139
Sound of Play

Sound of Play: 139 – The videogame music podcast

Joining host Leon Cox (@ratsoalbion) for Sound of Play 139 is community member is Adam Lloyd (@HorseMorsel)

What we aim to bring you with Sound of Play is a diverse sample of some of our favourite pieces from the many air-punching, spine-tingling, tear-jerking and grin-inducing videogame soundtracks we’ve heard over the years.

Track listing for this show is as follows:

1: Planet Sonata by Tomoko Sasaki – Ristar, 1995

2: Ancient Mound by Naofumi Hataya/Tatsuyuki Maeda/Haruyo Oguro – Golden Axe III, 1993

3: Title Theme by Michael Bartlow – Starflight, 1991

4: Seaside by Asmik Sound Team – Dimension Force, 1991

5: 4-2 by Noriyuki Iwadare – Gynoug, 1991

6: Staff Roll by Yoko Shimomura/Isao Abe – Street Fighter II, 1992

7: Let’s Go On An Adventure by Motoaki Takenouchi – Landstalker, 1992

8: Credits by Jean Baudlot/Fabrice Visserot – Flashback, 1992

9: Mystic Cave Zone by Masato Nakamura – Sonic the Hedgehog 2, 1992

Sound of Play 139 was edited by Jay Taylor (@JaySevenZero)

Remember, it’s not just about what we like, so venture over to our forum at caneandrinse.com and put forward your own suggestions so that we might include them in future shows.

One Comment

  1. I was just listening to this after searching whether you guys had ever covered Flashback (because I’d forgotten), and I’d also forgotten I’d requested the credits track for a Sound Of Play show, it was nice to hear the tune again. What’s funny though is because it’s over the credits it just repeats the same few parts over and over again, and I wasn’t expecting you to play it for so long. I could just picture you both sat there, checking your watches, wondering how long it was going to go on for… ?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.